Friedman Firearms Training

Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: Why should I take a handgun class?
A training class is essential to learning proper gun handling, safety, storage and marksmanship techniques. Even experienced shooters can learn something new. Also, purchasing guns today and training to use them properly is more important than ever to secure the rights given Americans under the 2nd Amendment to our Constitution!


Q: Why should I carry my gun concealed?
If you live in a California county where Concealed Weapon Permits (CCW) are issued to law-abiding citizens, you should apply for one. It is a citizen’s responsibility to protect themselves, their family, and their neighbors.


Q: Why do I need a permit? 

In the state of California, you must have a permit to conceal a firearm on your person. It is a weapons charge to carry without a permit in California. Read section 25400 in the California Penal Code for specifics.


Q: Is there a minimum age limit to obtain a permit?

A permit applicant must be at least 21 years to obtain a permit. There is no maximum age limit.

Q: How long is the permit valid?

The permit is valid for 2 years from the date of issue and can be renewed.


Q: Can I use my California Concealed Handgun Permit in other states when I travel?

A California CCWP is good in California as well as a few other states. Refer to the Internet for reciprocity. California does NOT recognize any other State's permit!


Q: Do I have to apply for the permit in the county I reside in?

Yes, you must apply in the county you reside in. If you move to another county in California, you must notify your previous sheriff within 30 days.


Q: Do I have to register my gun?

YES, you have to register your gun. Also, it can’t be altered other than with specific factory options.


Q: Can you help me choose a gun?

Our instructors will discuss your needs and steer you in the right direction. We have an affiliation with City Arms located in Pleasant Hill to assist in your purchase.


Q: Do I have to take a test to get a permit?

It depends upon the county in which you live. Check with your Sheriff or local Police Chief.

If you have any other questions, please call: 925-818-6642 or

email [email protected]